NZ Federation of Historical Societies Inc Recalling Past Presidents – a tribute

Arthur Alexander Noel MOORE (1900-1993) Living in Cambridge, Arthur Moore was one of the founders of the Federation, serving on the 1971 steering committee and then as inaugural President from 1971 to 1974. He remained on the Executive until 1978 and then became the Federation Patron from 1979 to 1983. The Federation "newsletter" (number 85, 1994) noted that "over a decade of service to our Federation is a worthy record and one for which we are thankful."

Edward Sydney (Sid) Hart (1910-1998) Lived in New Plymouth, was a President of New Plymouth Historical Society. Served as Federation's first Vice President 1971/73 becoming President 1974/75.

Arthur Gibbon Fisk (1899-1983) Mick Fisk served as Federation President from 1976-1980, having been on the Executive Committee since 1973. Hamiltonians will remember him for his role in the restoration and resiting of Hockin House. He was President of the Waikato Historical Society for seven years, Vice President of the Waikato Barnch of the New Zealand Founders Society and a committee member of the Clydesdale Museum.

Stanley Northcote-Bade (1906-1997) As with Arthur Moore, Stan Northcote-Bade was a founder of the Federation, served on the Executive Committee 1971/73, Vice President 1974/75 and President 1980/83. In New Zealand Legacy, (Volume 9 Number 1, 1997,page 2) Robin Astridge gave "thanks for a long life spent working for others, for the knowledge passed on to others.....(and) thank you Stan for your input into things historical, particularly our Federation."

Robin Bertram Astridge QSM (1942-2022)

Robin served the Federation for 39 years. He was President, under its former name of NZ Federation of Historical Societies, from 1983 through to 1998, remained on the executive committee 1998-2001, served as Vice President 2001, then became President once more from December 2001 until 2008. Again, he remained on our committee from 2008 to 2013 and worked hard as our Liaison Officer, then returned in 2014 and remained on committee through to this year. He was reappointed to the committee, but had to resign due to his ill health. He was appointed Patron in 2019, and remained so through to his death. To the last, he made a grand effort to keep the Federation's magazine *NZ Legacy* alive in a digital format. He was also member of Cambridge Historical Society, Matamata Historical Society, the Defence of New Zealand Study Group and the Pirongia Heritage Center.

Ross Bythell Elected President 1998. Represented Picton Historical Society.

_

John McSweeney Elected President 2001 and resigned in December of that year, chairing one Executive Committee meeting in that time. Represented New Zealand Founders at the time of his election in Gore.

Dr Neil Albert Algar (1927-2021)

Neil was one of those who came onto the Executive Committee at a time of crisis in 2003. He was elected President in 2008. President of the Matamata Historical Society, ex local body councilor and Mayor of Matamata.

Thanks to David Verran for notes on Messr Moore, Fisk and Northcote-Bade. Robin Astridge compiled others. Lisa Truttman updated the list in July 2022.